Australia and SpainRecords show the first Free Spanish settler in Australia, arrived in 1821. He received 2000 hectares of land and died in 1838. The Spaniard`s Hill was named to commemorate it. 119,952 Australian residents are now of Spanish origin, while 15,391 inhabitants were born in Spain. Australia`s Spanish community has grown considerably from descendants of 19th-century agricultural immigrants and those who arrived in the 1960s as part of a government-backed migrant transit program. Spanish nationals travelling on tourist visas can last less than 3 months, for example. B many eliCOS courses if no student visa is required. 6,452 Spanish students were enrolled in Australian educational institutions in different fields of education. These include higher education, vocational training and training programmes, schools, ELICOS and non-discriminatory training programmes.

Cooperation on major military projects has widened the scope for bilateral engagement between Australia and Spain after the turn of the century. Bilateral agreements include the extradition treaty, the Treaty on Judicial Assistance in Criminal Matters, the Convention on Cultural, Educational and Scientific Cooperation, the Convention on Double Taxation, the Convention on Social Security, the Air Services Agreement, the Agreement on the Mutual Protection of Information Classified by Defence Interests, the Defence Cooperation Agreement, the Labour Cooperation Agreement and the Sports Cooperation Agreement and the Joint Declaration of Cooperation in sport. Australians can currently travel to Spain as part of the visa liberalisation policy, with only one valid travel document. If ETIAS is implemented in 2021, Australians will have to apply for online pre-authorization before leaving for Spain. Spanish nationals currently have to apply for a similar visa exemption via the Australian ETA, which is very similar in terms of efficiency and profitability vis-à-vis ETIAS. Twelve nations have bilateral agreements with Australia. One of them can be useful to many travellers: the bilateral agreement between Australia and Germany on visa exemption. This scheme allows Australians with a passport to apply for a stay in Germany for 3 months, regardless of the time they have already spent in the Schengen area. Australian passport holders do not need a visa to visit Schengen countries (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland) if their stay does not exceed 90 days. Other passport holders may be required to apply for a Schengen visa for a visit of up to 90 days; For more information, see (English, home assistant) and In addition, the Australian and Dutch governments have reached an agreement stipulating that Australian passport holders can stay in the Netherlands for an additional 90 days without the need for a visa after visiting other Schengen states. However, these additional 90 days are only valid/applicable if the Netherlands is the last Schengen state visited. Below, you will find excerpts from the website of the Australian Division of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) for more details on these bilateral visa agreements.

Visa waiver agreements differ in some areas. If you want to take advantage of these agreements, you should be aware that you are not breaking the rules. For most immigration officers in the Schengen area, the right of Australian passport holders to travel freely is subject to the 90 days allowed by the Schengen Agreements. If you have stayed longer under a bilateral visa waiver agreement, you may need to prove its existence. Once you have developed your itinerary, write to the relevant embassies in Canberra and present as briefly as possible your plans on how long you are staying in your country and elsewhere in the Schengen area and you have a printed copy of your